2017 BRCA 1/8th Stock Cars AGM The JCB Academy, Rocester Meeting minutes – 29th October

BRCA Exec input:

The F1 and F2 1/12th electric formulas of the stock car section were given the chance to vote on whether they remained part of the Stock Cars section with 1/8th or split away and become their own section. They voted in favour of splitting and becoming their own section. They have taken over what was the 1/12th Oval Section with the intention of renaming it the 1/12th Stock Cars Section. The 1/8th Stock Cars section wish them good luck and a successful future.

Attendees:

Ben Harding (Vice Chairman), Steve Wearing (Secretary), Sam Wearing (Grading Officer), Amelia Batty, Dick Batty, Jake Cameron, Alex Montague, Ricky Slater, Ian Ferguson, Andy Montague, Steve Kinton, Scott Kinton, James Kinton, Ryan Kinton, Tracey Kinton, Steve Gould, Dave Gwilliam, Steve Farrer, Simon Farrer, Paul Dexter.

Apologies:

Gary Osborne (Chairman & PRO), Jonathan Goodacre (Treasurer), Scott Grocock (Scrutineer)

Minutes from 2016 AGM:

Minutes were distributed and accepted.

Chairman's report:

Chairman was not present; a report had not been provided and the Vice Chairman was temporarily absent from the meeting.

Treasurer's report:

Treasurer was not present; a report had been provided and was distributed amongst the attendees and accepted.

PRO report:

PRO was not present; a report had not been provided.

Trophies:

National Points - 1st Ben Harding, 2nd Alex Montague, 3rd Dave Gwilliam National Points Jnr - 1st Tom O'Hara, 2nd James Kinton, 3rd Ryan Kinton

National Series - 1st Kane Farren, 2nd Ben Harding, 3rd Alex Montague National Series Jnr - 1st Ryan Kinton, 2nd James Kinton, 3rd Tom O'Hara

Southern Series - 1st Dave Gwilliam, 2nd Doug Taunton, 3rd Ross Wiffen Southern Series Jnr - 1st Tom O'Hara

Midland Series - 1st Ben Harding, 2nd Kane Farren, 3rd Simon Farrer Midland Series Jnr - 1st Ryan Kinton

Northern Series - $\mathbf{1}^{\text{st}}$ Dick Batty, $\mathbf{2}^{\text{nd}}$ Amelia Batty, $\mathbf{3}^{\text{rd}}$ Ian Yarwood Snr Northern Series Jnr - $\mathbf{1}^{\text{st}}$ Jack Teal

Derek Bird special contribution award - Dave Gwilliam

Proposals:

1. Rule change "Construction rule regarding aerofoils – the maximum width and length of the centre panel to be 180mm."

Proposed by Ben Harding, Seconded by Dave Gwilliam.

Proposal was amended to "Construction rule regarding aerofoils – the maximum width and length of the centre panel to be 170mm".

Amendment was to bring BRCA rule in-line with WEMSA rule.

Proposal was passed.

2. New rule "Wet weather tyres to be only JSW, JSWG and Pit Shimizu caps".

Proposed by Dave Gwilliam, Seconded by Ben Harding.

Proposal was withdrawn due to the increased cost of Schumacher tyres.

3. New rule "At all club rounds, regional rounds, national rounds, British Open, English Open and Champion of Champions race control must provide a handwritten or printed list of drivers' heat scores and their total qualifying score. The list is to be accessible at race control and/or in the pits and will be displayed during the lunch break. An updated list will be displayed after the last round has been run."

Proposed by Sam Wearing, Seconded by Steve Wearing.

Proposal was passed.

4. Rule removal "At club meetings, alternative formats may be used at the discretion of the host club (eg. 3 rounds with all to count). Whichever format is used it must be communicated to the drivers at the pre meeting briefing".

Proposed by Sam Wearing, Seconded by Steve Wearing.

Proposal was passed.

5. Rule change "All regional and national meetings as well as the British Open and English Open will have 4 qualifying rounds with a drivers' best 3 scores being totalled to give a qualifying score. For meetings at club level, the host club can choose to run either 3 or 4 qualifying rounds. If 3 rounds are run, then all 3 count towards the total qualifying score. If 4 rounds are run then drivers' lose their worst score and their best 3 scores are totalled to give a qualifying score. Drivers must be informed how many rounds will be run at the pre meeting drivers briefing."

Proposed by Sam Wearing, Seconded by Steve Wearing.

Proposal was withdrawn due to clashing with rule 5.5.

6. Rule change "At club meetings the top 4 qualifiers must move straight into the meeting final with the next 6 drivers going into a 4 minute consolation. The top 2 from the consolation will then be added to the original top 4 qualifiers to make up a 5 minute final with 6 cars".

Proposed by Sam Wearing, Seconded by Steve Wearing.

Proposal was passed.

7. Rule change "Best 3 scores from 5 rounds to count towards the National Series championship".

Proposed by Simon Farrer, Seconded by Steve Farrer.

Proposal was withdrawn due to uncertainty of available meetings in the Northern region.

8. Rule change "At all meetings above club level, there should be a minimum of 2 hours practice available before racing and practice allowed during the lunchbreak."

Proposed by Simon Farrer, Seconded by Steve Farrer.

Proposal was passed.

9. Rule change "Any 3.5cc engine may be used with any carburettor combination. No engines over 3.5cc are allowed."

Proposed by Steve Wearing, Seconded by Sam Wearing.

Proposal was passed.

10. Rule change: "The club has a meeting schedule evenly spaced between the 1st Sunday in March and the Sunday prior to the Champion of Champions in October. The excludes any WEMSA meetings. All meetings should be open to all oval section members. All meeting dates must be publicised via an oval section approved media".

Proposed by Dick Batty, Seconded by Amelia Batty.

Proposal was amended to specify the meeting schedule must have a minimum of 6 meetings.

Proposal was passed.

Election of officials:

Chairman and PRO – Gary Osborne. Proposed by Sam Wearing, Seconded by Ben Harding.

Vice Chairman – Ben Harding. Proposed by Steve Wearing, Seconded by Dave Gwilliam.

Secretary – Steve Wearing. Proposed by Paul Dexter, Seconded by Simon Farrer.

Treasurer – Jonathan Goodacre. Proposed by Sam Wearing, Seconded by Ben Harding.

Grading officer – Sam Wearing. Proposed by Ben Harding, Seconded by Steve Gould.

Scrutineer – Ben Harding. Proposed by Alex Montague, Seconded by Ricky Slater.

Northern Reps – Dick Batty and Amelia Batty.

Midland Reps – Paul Dexter and Mick Goodhall.

Southern Reps – Mick Betts and Ricky Slater.

WEMSA Secretary – Gary Osborne.

WEMSA Northern – Dick Batty and Amelia Batty.

WEMSA Midland – Scott Grocock and Steve Farrer.

WEMSA Southern – Mick Betts and Ricky Slater.

All proposed officials were accepted.

AOB:

Dick Batty explained that NORA were going to have a council enforced noise test in April, due to a local complaint. It is likely that they will not be able to run meetings in 2018. Plan A was agreed that, if permitted, they will run to the new minimum schedule of 6 meetings. Plan B was agreed that NORA meetings will be run at Notts & Derby, by the NORA team and they will receive the race funds. Any WEMSA meetings that were due to be run at NORA in 2018 will be run at Notts & Derby if WEMSA agree.

Adur club will be included in the Major meetings rota for 2018 and onwards and have agreed to upgrade the venue facilities to the necessary requirements.

Dick also proposed the Section approach Skegness Raceway with the offer to run an RC Stock Cars demonstration at the 2018 World Final. He agreed to discuss the proposal with the Section PRO Gary and BRCA PRO Alan Leighton.

Meeting closed at 13:55.